Accrington Cricket Club

Lowerhouse v Accrington
Saturday April 20th 2013
Ron Singleton Colne Trophy

Saturday April 20th Score Score
Lowerhouse 222-6 Accrington 225-6
Accrington beat Lowerhouse by 3 runs

Accrington 2013 Colne Trophy Winners
Accrington 2013 Colne Trophy Winners
©Nigel Stockley

Accrington won the Ron Singleton Colne Trophy for the first time after beating double winners Lowerhouse by 3 runs in a thrilling finish.

Captain Stuart Crabtree picked up the trophy in his first match in charge in the absence of Graham Lloyd as Accrington won this cup at the third time of asking after defeats in previous finals by Ramsbottom (2009) and Todmorden (2010).

Needing 11 runs for victory off Ashar Zaidi's final over, Chris Bleazard hit the first ball for four but only 3 more runs came off the next 3 balls to leave Accrington victorious in a match that saw 447 runs scored for the loss of 12 wickets.

Zaidi had earlier top scored with68 from 89 balls, hitting five fours and a six. He added 91 for the 2nd wicket with opener Simon Hanson (40) and 45 with Crabtree (43). Matt Wilson hit an unbeaten 25 and Graeme Sneddon 15 as Accrington closed on 225-6.

Ben Heap and Jonny Whitehead put on 39 before Whitehead was run out for 20. Heap was caught behind by Wilson off David Ormerod for 17 at 52 but professional Francois Haasbroek and Joe Martin took the score to 144 when Martin skied Ormerod to Hayhurst who took the catch when the amateur was 8 short of his half century.

Haasbroek did reach his own half century from 71 balls but 2 balls later he was trapped lbw by the evergreen Ormerod.

Hanson picked up Joe Hawke 2 runs later at 154 to put Accrington on top but skipper Charlie Cottam (21) and Bleazard slowly brought the double winners back in contention only for Zaidi to have the last word.

First the Accrington professional bowled Cottam and then he bowled the match winning final over to seal the season's first silverware.